top of page

I Spelled My Name Wrong


Hi Guys!!

So I decided to talk about something interesting.

Before we get started, quick update. If you look around, a lot of the set up and layout of the site has changed. Including on how you read the stories on the site. I would really appreciate some feedback on this to weather you like it or not so much.

If you notice in the fanfiction section, there is a new image on the navigation page as well. Chosen by the viewers Mau-Sama now graces the page and more doodles will begin to appear over time.

So that all said, lets talk about something interesting.

If the tittle hasn’t told you everything yet, the name Chun Meigui is technically spelt wrong.

A lot of people that have visited my site or are my friends that have seen the name Chun Meigui before often assumed that the name was just something I made up. Well there is some truths to that ezcept that the name is actual real words in the real world. In fact this is what Chun Meigui is supposed to look like in its original language.

纯玫瑰

Chun Meigui is Chinese words, with Chun being the Surname and Meigui being the given name. So don’t call me Meigui unless we are close friends!

The story behind the name goes back to middle school when I took interest in the Chinese language. Particularly Mandarin, though at the time I didn’t know the difference between any of the different dialects or anything about the four tones used in the mandarin language. When I took interest in the language originally because I wanted characters with names from various cultures, and Chun Meigui was a variation of one of those names. However it wasn't until my first year of high school that I really made the name my own. It truly had nothing to do with Art or this website and had everything to do with the young Chinese girl who couldn’t speak any English.

I made it my high school goal to become her best friend. The decision came when I saw a group of girls trying to tease and bully her and her confused look on her face as she didn’t understand anything they were saying. Long story short, we did become pretty good friends and stayed friends for the rest of the year until she moved to a new school (which had been for the best, my school really wasn’t helping her succeed and didn’t know how to help her). We didn’t stay close friends after that, but the lessons we learned from each other were never forgotten.

I didn’t lose my interest in the Chinese languages. Instead I continued some of my study, and while I still can’t speak more than 15 words I have new found appreciation for the culture as a whole. (have you ever seen the weddings, so elaborate and vibrant red!)

Chun Meigui is how I type the name, and I do use google translate often, so I want to point out that technically I should be writing the name with the correct Pinyin. “Pinyin, or Hanyu Pinyin, is the official system in mainland China, Singapore and Taiwan for transcribing Standard Chinese with the Latin alphabet.” (Provided so kindly from Wikipedia) so Chun Meigui is supposed to look like Chún Méiguī. Ú this is a rising tone and this Ī is a more neutral tone. I can remember that much. It’s interesting trying to speak the language when you are pretty much tone deaf, so I don’t always hear the differences in tones.

The Meaning of Chun Meigui is “Pure Rose” which one would think I would incorporate that into the designs of my logo and website, but I much prefer it as a simple name for the mascot that everyone see’s featured all over the place. (The girl with her headphones and coffee cup). However Chún is not the surname I use anymore for my Chinese last name. I actually go by 蓝玫瑰 or Lán Méiguī , Which is Blue Rose. Why the difference? Well because my actual last name Landry, when written in Chinese 兰德里 (Lán dé lǐ ) , has Lán in it.

Well I hope you guys learned something new from me and you enjoyed this little blog entry. If you have some experiences with names and languages, please share them below in the comments. Also try putting Chun Meigui into google translate, both with Pinyin and with out and see what happens. you will crack up. I enjoy languages and how people have experienced them so don’t forget to share this blog and tell your friends!


Any Story featured on this website unless stated otherwise is purely fictional and all appropriate characters belong to the original creators.

Please be aware that the purpose of moving to this site is because my stories are for Mature Adult Aduiences and as such Stories are rated MA or R for nudity, violence, language, Adult Themes and Explicit Contents. I can not stop someone from reading, but ask that you be 18 or older to read certain stories that are stated to be MA or R rated.

bottom of page